Do You Know What Your Love Language Is?

A huge part of finding someone who’s right for you is finding out more about yourself – what makes you happy, what you’re looking for in a person, what your goals for your life are… and what your love language is!

When it comes to relationships, everyone is different – and that’s part of the fun of it all. It would be incredibly boring if we were all the same, after all!

How we choose to receive and express love in relationships differs greatly, depending on the kind of person that we are… and arming yourself with the knowledge of what makes you tick romantically will help make sure that you get what you need in a relationship, as well as ensuring that you’re satisfying your partner’s needs, as well.

There are actually five different love languages in total, a concept first developed by author and marriage counsellor Dr Gary Chapman. The love doctor, if you will!

His book The 5 Love Languages is, in fact, an international bestseller and has sold more than 20 million copies, as well as being a regular on the New York Times bestsellers list since 2007… so you can bet he knows his stuff!

But what are these love languages and where do you fit in? Here’s the lowdown on love, as explained by Dr Gary. Which one of these do you think you are? There’s a quiz you can take to find out, of course!

bigstock Couple In Love At Home In Quar 381358127

Words of affirmation

If this is your love language or that of your partner’s, you appreciate affection being expressed through praise or spoken words and encouragement.

Communication is absolutely key here, whether that’s in person or digitally, with lots of texting and engagement on social media… all of which will help those with this love language feel understood, appreciated and loved.

Quality time

This one is all about making sure you give your other half your full attention – or they give theirs to you. You feel most appreciated and loved when your partner actively wants to spend time with you, without the distraction of mobile phones, tablets, the TV and so on, instead sharing meaningful conversations or doing something fun together.

Physical touch

Those of you out there with this love language feel most loved through physical affection – and this doesn’t just mean in the bedroom, of course. It’s all about hand-holding, stroking, surprise hugs, massages… there are all sorts of ways that physical affection can be expressed without having to go the whole hog between the sheets.

bigstock Petty Woman Tenderly Stroking 348175879

Acts of service

To feel loved and appreciated, people with acts of service as their love language need their partner to take action and do lots of nice things for them – without having to be asked! 

This could be something tiny like them doing the dishes even after they’ve cooked to making coffee in the morning… remember that actions speak louder than words to this particular group of romantics, so doing anything that makes their life easier will be very much appreciated. 

And, interestingly, they can often be found doing little acts of service for their partners, as well – so it’s an especially lovely language to speak.

Receiving gifts

When it comes to people with this love language, the receiving of gifts makes them feel appreciated in a relationship… but it’s not just a case of any gift will do. They also particularly appreciate the amount of time and effort that goes into the gift itself – and big or expensive presents aren’t necessarily always on the wishlist. 

It’s more about finding the perfect present for that person, which suggests true knowledge and understanding of their soul.

So there you have it! The five love languages set out! Understanding the nuances of each and where you and your partner lie within them can really help you improve your relationship – and also make it easier for you to find the right person for you when on the initial quest for love.

There are all sorts of benefits to knowing your own love language and that of your partners, everything from helping you both become more empathetic to promoting selflessness within relationships. Why not take the quiz and see if learning more about these love languages helps improve your relationship today?

Are you looking for love right now and do you think you need the help of a professional dating agency? Get in touch with Select Personal Introductions today to see how we can help you find the one!

Share the love

Leave a comment

Get in touch

Schedule a call with a dating expert to get your questions answered and see how we can enhance your love life. Choose a convenient time. We’re here to help!  

Transform your love life – fill out the form below

..... ..... .....
..... ..... .....
...... ......